Grocery Shopping

Taylor and I have only been married a little over two years but have started some little traditions of our own.  One of them is our weekly grocery shopping trip on Sunday mornings.  When we were dating and ate dinner together a lot, I didn’t plan ahead and subsequently went to the grocery store at least 3 times a week.  I always ended up buying at least one thing we didn’t actually need for the meal – DOUBLE-STUFFED OREOS BUY ONE GET ONE! – so it was adding up.  Going only once a week minimizes that.  Having a list does too.

Going to the grocery store only once a week is one of several reasons why Taylor and I only eat meat once a week.  We don’t like to buy meat and have it sit in the fridge for more than 24 hours – I’ve always been weird about food going bad.  Ask my parents about the time they bought milk and the siblings all swore that it tasted like dishwashing soap.  They didn’t believe us and we had to finish our glass before we got up from the table.  It was a long night.  And there was the time I made pasta and put cheese on it to only find that the cheese was growing mold.  So all of that to say we prefer for meat to be fresh – especially if we’re only having it once a week.

I’m sure when we have kids we will not be as efficient but when we go shopping now we are usually done in under 45 minutes for the whole week!  The only distractions we have now are the cheese samples – why yes, I have had the new york cheddar sample every week for the past year but I would like to have another.  But the best part of our weekly grocery trip?  Chocolate covered, cream-filled doughnuts from Krispy Kreme on our way over.  Yes, I have converted this Yankee from Dunkin’ Donuts.  I strive to make my father proud.

-Sara

1 Comment

Filed under Sara Sunday

One response to “Grocery Shopping

  1. Jim

    Since I just had one of Krispy Kreme’s version of manna from heaven about two hours ago, I share your glee of helping another lost soul see the error of their wayaward taste buds. Proud I am, indeed.

Leave a Reply

