Back to School Ritual

I’ve been attending pre-planning starting last Friday.  As a student I wasn’t always found of the days preceding the start of a new school year.  I usually spent them trying to finish up my summer reading and enjoying the last few nights of being able to stay up late playing video games, or as I grew older, spending time with friends (sometimes still playing video games).  As I approach my fifth year of teaching it’s funny how some things have not changed.

Just like when I was a kid I love buying new school supplies.  I know this makes me a nerd but nothing that beats the feeling of a new notebook, still sealed packages of pencils and pens, and the idea that this will be the year that I actually use a 3-ring binder effectively, and not just shove loose papers in it at the end of the day.

As always THIS is the year I will get organized for school.  I make big plans to organize my notebooks by subject, set a calendar and by God I will keep a regular schedule.  Each year I last a little bit longer with these aspirations.  Will this be the year I can keep organized until the end?  There’s always next year…

I still have to finish my summer reading.  I have completed the faculty book, “Zeitoun” which I found to be a great read.  However, I have only just begun the all school book for the year, “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.”  I know that I will enjoy it but I just haven’t committed to reading it quite yet.  I tell myself it’s because I’m so busy buying school supplies and organizing myself for the upcoming school year, but it really brings me to another back to school activity.

As mentioned in yesterday’s post I’ve purchased NCAA Football 2012 for the Playstation 3.  Going back to college I have a tradition that has formed accidentally over the years where I will take up a new video game at the worst possible times in the year: right before school starts, and during finals week.  I’m not sure if this is a subconscious way of making things more challenging for myself, or if I’m just that poor of a planner to realize the trouble it will cause me.  It might be worth it though if my 11-0 #2 ranked Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets can continue on to win the National Championship!  Take notes Paul Johnson.

This school year promises to be the best yet and I hope to share some of the stories along the way.  As for now, I need to find some binder dividers…

2 Comments

Filed under Taylor Tuesday

2 responses to “Back to School Ritual

  1. Zeitoun sounds good. Check out the RadioLab episode about Henrietta Lacks.

    http://www.radiolab.org/2010/may/17/henriettas-tumor/

    (Also, you can’t break with tradition…)

  2. Jim

    I think you mean VT, not GT, son.

Leave a Reply

