I Could Be a Teacher

Last night, I had an epiphany about something to post.  First of all my brother had a friend in high school named Epiphany and now that word seems weird to me.  For those of you that don’t know, my husband is a high school math teacher.  This is his fifth year in teaching and he’s awesome at it.  But his career has caused people to say more stupid things/stereotypes/myths/insults than I have ever heard for any other career.  So far I have gathered 4 main things that I have heard people say multiple times – to my husband’s face, online, in the media – that drive me crazy.  And that list is going to spark the first ever Soapbox Saturday series.  I realize that the people that say these things are typically not trying to be hurtful.  But when you personally know a teacher and the struggles they face, these one liners really can be insulting.

Today we will explore one that became prevalent a couple of years ago when the economy really started going south and people were trying to figure out what to do with their lives as their job opportunities were closing up.

I COULD BE A TEACHER UNTIL SOMETHING ELSE COMES UP

Or some variant like “I’ll just be a teacher”.  Why do people see teaching as the career to “settle” for?  Or the career that you need no previous experience for?  I see what Taylor does and I know it takes a little more experience and planning than to just walk in and teach a lesson.  Like any other job, being a teacher should mean that you want to do it and that you are passionate about it.  That you might actually be interested in having an impact on children’s lives.

-Sara

Leave a comment

Filed under Soap Box Saturday

Leave a Reply

