And I could see for miles, miles, miles

This past weekend I jetted back home to throw a baby shower for my BFF with my other BFF.  For the 4th grader out there debating whether or not you can have more than one BFF I am here to tell you that you can!  Caroline – the pregnant one – and I met in 5th grade Sunday school class.  I found her annoying because every week she would ask  for us to pray for her mom who was pregnant with her baby brother.  It took us awhile to become friends.  If I was still going to Sunday school I would probably be asking for prayers for her every week so I guess she finally showed me!  Meanwhile two years later, Katie was new in school and was assigned to my 7th grade lunch table.  She told me years later that she thought I was popular.  I wore overalls, was trying to grow out my bangs, and cried if I was assigned “silent lunch”.  You decide if I was popular.  We became friends and she started attending the same church Caroline and I went to.  We rocked it out in youth praise team – oh yes – and have been the best of friends since.

2004 - but our sunglasses make it look like the 90s

Caroline is pregnant with her first child.  Also the first child for any of the three of us.  I think we are all still in shock that one of us is actually responsible enough to have a baby and, you know, take care of it forever.  Katie giggled uncomfortably at the old-timey breast pump stories while I had a mild panic attack over the prices of baby items during The Price is Right game.  I remember our friendship when we were all 16 years old.  It has been unwavering so it seems the same to me but then I realize it’s ten years later and we’re having a baby shower.  And talking about our careers.  And paying student loans.  At some point we grew up.

-Sara

3 Comments

Filed under Walkabout Wednesday

3 responses to “And I could see for miles, miles, miles

  1. Katie

    Best. Post. Ever. 🙂 Love you two so much!!!

  2. Caroline

    Agreed! Love you:)

  3. Chris

    And how beautiful you all are!

Leave a Reply

