Oatmeal Bars

I’m a creature of habit, particularly when it comes to my weekday breakfast: a smoothie (made by Taylor), oatmeal, and a hard-boiled egg.  The problem with oatmeal is that it doesn’t travel well and I often end up having to carry it into work in a mug because I didn’t finish eating it at home.  It also is a pain to clean a bowl that had oatmeal in it 10 hours later.  So I found this Oatmeal Bar recipe and adapted it to my liking.  They freeze well and I just pop one in the microwave for a minute in the morning.

4 cups quick oats

1 1/2 cups flour

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. salt

1 cup unsweetened applesauce

4 eggs

1 1/2 cups dried raspberries

Mix everything together and press into a greased 13 x 9 dish.  Bake for 25 minutes at 350 degrees.  Makes about 16 bars.

This is where I typically would put a picture.  But we ate them all so you’ll have to imagine what it looks like.  It looks good, doesn’t it?

-Sara

2 Comments

Filed under Foodie Friday

2 responses to “Oatmeal Bars

  1. Katie

    Trying to clean a bowl hours later that has had oatmeal in it is the worst.

Leave a Reply

