Cheese 101

Last Wednesday we attended a “Cheese 101” class at a local cheese shop called Scardello.  I stumbled upon Scardello a couple of months back when I had a Junior League meeting there.  The lady in charge sent out an email and said “We will be having our meeting at a cheese shop”.  I think I might have peed my pants when I realized that there was a shop just filled with CHEESE that was only 3 miles from my house.  I imagine in the post-apocalyptic world that this will be walkable and I can pillage it.

Their selection of cheese is amazing with bunches of artisan Texas cheeses, American cheeses, and international cheeses.  They also sell wine, beer, and local food vendor products.  You can buy cheese to take home with you or you can enjoy a cheese plate with a glass of wine.  Basically it’s what I imagine heaven is like.  Sorry cheese-haters (BLAINE), but heaven is going to suck for you.

The class included discussion on how different cheeses are made, how to store and eat cheese, and the 8 different types of cheese: fresh, semi-soft, soft ripened, surface ripened, semi-hard, hard, washed rind, and blue.  This included getting to try 16 different cheese.  SIXTEEN.  Paired with two different wines.

It was the most beautiful thing I have ever seen.  For certain cheeses, he would have us pair them with seemingly random foods to bring out certain flavors.  A Gouda we had, when paired with a dried apple, tasted like caramel.  It was so strange and tasty.

Taylor had an annual physical the next morning.  We are expecting them to call with the blood work results to say, “Mr. Gibson, we were unable to analyze your blood because the sample we took consisted mostly of cheese.”

-Sara

3 Comments

Filed under Walkabout Wednesday

3 responses to “Cheese 101

  1. Ann

    I am so jealous!

  2. Katie

    I am insanely jealous!

  3. HEY! I’m not a cheese HATER, I just don’t like overly cheesey cheese. And keep it out of my pasta.

Leave a Reply

