Garden State

On our flight back from Rochester, Taylor and I watched Garden State.  This movie came out shortly after I started my freshman year at Georgia Tech and even though Taylor and I were only friends at the time I knew it was one of his favorites.  The soundtrack to the movie is great and the story of 20-somethings trying to figure out their lives was resounding to those of us just starting out on that path.  Below are some of my favorite quotes from the movie:

“I guess I just like the idea of discovering something.  Of doing something that’s completely unique…that’s never been done before.  But you know what? That’s all ego.  None of that really matters. If I get to be with this person right here and our beautiful baby, that’s all I need.”

“You know, this necklace makes me think of this totally random memory of my mother. I was a little kid, and I was crying for one reason or another. And she was cradling me, rocking me back and forth, and I can just remember the silver balls rolling around. And there was, like, snot running down my nose. And she offered me her sleeve and told me to blow my nose into it. And I can remember, even as a little kid, thinking to myself, this is love… this is love.”

“You and I are gonna be okay, you know that, right? We may not be as happy as you always dreamed we would be, but for the first time let’s just allow ourselves to be whatever it is we are and that will be better. Okay? I think that will be better.”

-Sara

2 Comments

Filed under Sara Sunday

2 responses to “Garden State

Leave a Reply

