Here, Have Some Wine

I stumbled across this a couple of weeks ago on Facebook:


While at least 10 people “liked” it, I became pretty frustrated.  No one comes off as a good or intelligent person in this graphic: the man is an idiot who can’t say anything right and the woman has a short-temper that can only be soothed by wine.  Is that really what we want to label our significant others as?  Is that really what we want to label ourselves as?

I understand there is a whole line of joking around that centers on male/female stereotypes.  They are played out everyday on the majority of television commercials I see.  And it’s tiring.  I’m tired of Taylor being put into a box that labels him as incompetent and not helpful.  Taylor can read my moods better than anyone else and does half the work around the house.  I’m tired of me being put into a box that labels me as bitchy and controlling.  Maybe I can be those things on my worst days but do I really want to make jokes about it?  Not really.

-Sara

Leave a comment

Filed under Soap Box Saturday

Leave a Reply

